Nathanael Green's Blog

An advertising copywriter, novelist, and freelance writer's brain goo.

The Alot and the Close-Talker Solution

with 3 comments

According to Allie Brosh at Hyperbole and a Half, the appropriate action to take when confronted with a close talker is:

This image alone made me laugh so hard I thought I’d ruptured a lung. Wheezing and hacking. Tears. Literally.

What’s this have to do with the usual word-nerdery on this blog? Well, this is from a post entitled “The Awkward Situation Survival Guide.” And one of those situations is encounters with close talkers. And talking (close or otherwise) is linguistic. Or something.

Whatever. It’s funny and I couldn’t keep it to myself. But even better news is that I browsed through more posts and found one that actually (no really, I mean it) has to do with grammar and apostrophobes!

Here it is: The Alot is Better Than You at Everything.

Thank you, Stacey, for alerting me to this blog, and thank you, Ms. Brosh for teaching me how to act in public.

Image: Allie Brosh

Written by Nathanael Green

November 29, 2010 at 7:40 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yes, that is funny. Strangely, it reminds of the book I’m reading, Motherless Brooklyn, by Jonathan Lethem, whose protagonist has Tourette’s Syndrome. Suffice it to say that licking people is not beyond his scope. I’m really enjoying it, though, in case that’s not clear.

    seana

    November 30, 2010 at 1:43 am

    • Thanks for the recommendation, I’ll certainly add that one to the list. There’s no end to the fun when socially-awkward licking is involved!

      Nathanael Green

      December 2, 2010 at 11:09 pm

  2. Aw, that’s cute. Thank you for the link! :)

    M. Howalt

    December 4, 2010 at 12:42 pm


Leave a Reply

