Nathanael Green's Blog

An advertising copywriter, novelist, and freelance writer's brain goo.

Trailers for Friday!

leave a comment »

What’s Trailers for Friday you ask? It’s where I give you a few movie trailers to check out.

Wait, movies about language and linguistics and writing and fiction and all that?

Oh yeah. I’m excited, too.

Here’s one that’s specifically about writing. I just happened on the trailer for Bad Writing and thought it looked pretty interesting. Not only that, but as added bonuses, it features footage of one of my favorite bookstores, The Strand, and includes the phrase “Hemingway boner” … I couldn’t keep all the fun to myself.

This next one isn’t specifically about language, but I’m sharing it because it’s about fiction. About some of my favorite fiction. George R.R. Martin is kind of enormous in the fantasy genre right now, and I remember being just floored when I read the first book in his A Song of Ice and Fire series.

A Game of Thrones has political intrigue, very real and complex characters, battle, monsters, romance, murder … everything a boy could want. It’s a great example of literate, well-done fantasy fiction that still satisfies with plot and action and I can’t recommend it highly enough to anyone who can read.

So yeah. They’re making an HBO series based on that.

Or how about something a little more historical that does have to do with speaking and language:

And here, dear friends, is yet more of Game of Thrones. This is a more in-depth making-of video that talks a little bit about what makes this such a great fantasy series (see above). And I agree with all of it.

As a side note, the casting in this looks fantastic, including Sean Bean as Eddard Stark and Lena Heady as Cersei Lannister.

Looks like I’ll be adding HBO to my cable subscription soon.

Written by Nathanael Green

December 17, 2010 at 7:16 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

