Nathanael Green's Blog

An advertising copywriter, novelist, and freelance writer's brain goo.

“The Slut Buck” is in Apiary Magazine

with 7 comments

What’s the slut buck, you ask?

I know, I know! You’ve been asking this question for YEARS with no good answer. Well, today, dear readers, if you go download the 2011 online issue of Apiary Magazine (which, of course, you should), your curiosity will be slaked with my short story of the same name.

Plus, I hope you’ll check out one of my favorite stories in this issue: “Only Leaves” by Leyla Eraslan—it’s a beautifully told tale of a girl and her tree that doesn’t know it’s a tree. I hope you like it as much as I do.

What? You want MORE reasons? OK, fine:

  • It’s online! 
  • It’s got lots more great writing and art! 
  • It’s FREE!

(I knew that would get you, you savages.)

So if you’re unfamiliar with Apiary, that should stop right now! These hard-working Philadelphia folks organize local events, blog about the literary scene, and even offer a pretty extensive calendar of all writerly goings-on in the area.

And they put out an excellent magazine, regardless of where you’re from.

So go, go, and indulge in some free poetry, art and fiction. And if you find some new writer or story that hits home, I hope you’ll share it with someone else.

Image: momono

Written by Nathanael Green

July 18, 2011 at 8:24 am

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That slut buck really gets around, the tramp.

    Now you tell me it’s FREE also?

    Brian O'Rourke

    July 19, 2011 at 5:51 pm

    • That’s just how the slut buck rolls.

      Nathanael Green

      July 27, 2011 at 10:14 am

    • Sorry it’s taken me so long to get around to the Slut Buck, Nate. It was really good. A nice twist there. by sheerest coincidence I also have a hunting story. I posted about both of them over at myStory Dump blog, if you’d like to see a somewhat parallel story.

      seana

      September 4, 2011 at 11:18 pm

      • Thanks, Seana. I really like your Story Dump blog! I’ll definitely keep an eye on that. Also, nice work on your own story!

        Nathanael Green

        September 6, 2011 at 5:12 pm

        • Thanks for taking a look, Nate. I forgot to subscribe here, so I am only just seeing your response now. Anything on the writing front we should be anticipating from you?

          seana

          September 11, 2011 at 4:20 pm

        • Oh, I always have a bunch of irons in the fire, but I’m always leery of talking things up too much until the check clears. (Of course, the clearing check is usually just a metaphor.) Of course I’ve got stories out on submission, a novel that I’m shopping to agents, and always new things in the works.

          How about you? You’ve been so stealthy about your own writing and it’s nice to see some of your work? Anything new or old you’d care to share here? And of course, your publishing news is always welcome here, so don’t be shy!

          Nathanael Green

          September 12, 2011 at 10:23 am

  2. I totally understand not wanting to talk about projects before they are done. I’m trying to take a variety of things through a next stage of editing, but my resolve has been a bit lagging. I like editing when I get around to it, or don’t mind it anyway. But it doesn’t seem to really call to me on a regular basis. Unfortunately.

    seana

    September 13, 2011 at 11:54 pm


Leave a Reply

