Nathanael Green's Blog

An advertising copywriter, novelist, and freelance writer's brain goo.

Give Me Your Shorts and Win NGEP!

with 21 comments

You WILL give me names.

You had such a great time with my last NGEP contest that I couldn’t in good conscience postpone this one another day.

(Yes. You did have lots of fun. Don’t argue with me.)

Last time, I pretty broadly asked you to recommend your favorite writers. I got everything from Richard Brautigan (whom I’ve since read) to Christopher McDougall (whom I’m reading right now) to Lev Grossman (whose The Magicians is sitting on my to-be-read shelf at home).

Good show, folks, but this time around, I’m looking for something more specific:

Recommend your favorite short stories to win more
Nathanael Green Endorsement Points!

Here’s how this thing works:

  • I, Nathanael Green, ask you for recommendations of some sort.
  • You offer up your suggestions in the comments, share your point of view, pimp your favorite writers, or maybe even do a little self-promotion.
  • I, Nathanael Green, award you randomly assigned, worthless, and sometimes weird points or prizes.*
  • You dazzle your friends at parties with your NGEPs and abnormal internet-based awards.
  • And now that you’re hooked, you comment even more on this post to keep your name on the leader board.

So, dear recommendors, give me your favorite shorts. What are you reading now that you love? What did you read years ago that still gives you chills? New stuff, old stuff, weird stuff, creepy stuff … just no boring stuff.

As always, self nominations are welcome. In fact, if you’ve written a short story you think is kick-ass and would like to share, that’s even better because I can talk to the actual, living author about how it kicks ass. (Brautigan’s fun, but he’s also dead, which makes conversations difficult.)

Go forth and prepare for NGEP glory! (By “go forth” I mean scroll down and give me your recommendation in the comments.)

_

*I said it before, but just in case: I’m without a doubt making the Nathanael Green Endorsement Points (NGEP) system up as I go along and understand exactly how silly it is. They’re not worth anything whatsoever except as an inaccurate and arbitrary indication of my gratitude. Still, winning lots of points at anything rocks.

Photo: JD Hancock/flickr

Written by Nathanael Green

February 29, 2012 at 10:03 am

21 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Best short story I’ve ever read: Heart of Darkness.

    My favorite: The Slut Buck.

    How’s that for brown-nosing?

    Brian O'Rourke

    February 29, 2012 at 6:00 pm

    • Hmm.

      Well, Brian, I’ve always thought that Heart of Darkness was considered a novella, rather that a short story. So I’m afraid I can’t award you any points for that one. BUT, considering Conrad wrote in his THIRD language, I’m giving you the Trilingual Effort Award. Here’s a random image from a Google search for “trilingual:”

      Trilingual = badass

      If The Slut Buck’s your favorite, you’ve got clearly superior taste, and it also probably means that you’re very good looking, humble, good with dogs, and also a good tipper. For that, you deserve no less than 22,000 points.

      Nathanael Green

      March 1, 2012 at 9:41 am

  2. Since Brian hasn’t snatched it up, I will heartily endorse reading Adrian McKinty’s The Cold Cold Ground.

    Hey, that was easy.

    seana

    February 29, 2012 at 11:12 pm

    • Seana, I’m postponing any NGEP awards for the moment only because I believe The Cold Cold Ground is a novel, and not a short story.

      Still, I’ve heard you and Brian talk about McKinty before, and I think I’m finally swayed to go and pick up a copy. For your effort, you deserve the Persuasion Award:

      Leading us astray

      Nathanael Green

      March 1, 2012 at 9:46 am

      • Man, the Persuasion Award is groovy! What’s the award for people who don’t read the fine print and sneak a novel into a whole other contest?

        seana

        March 2, 2012 at 12:05 am

    • P.S. I can’t win NGEP (sadly), but because Seana is so humble, I’d like to recommend checking out Seana’s page (http://seana-storydump.blogspot.com/) if you’re interested in short stories, and taking a look at Grimm Tales, which features one of Seana’s stories.

      Nathanael Green

      March 1, 2012 at 9:54 am

      • Uh, that page really needs to be updated. I have plans for it, but you know how it is with plans… Thanks for the mention, and without trying to get any more points, “The Slut Buck” was great. We should really give others the link info here: https://500wordsonwords.wordpress.com/2011/07/18/the-slut-buck-is-in-apiary-magazine/

        On the story front, I will mention that I’m reading Berlin Stories, by the Swiss writer Robert Walser, and they are quite delightful.

        seana

        March 2, 2012 at 12:14 am

        • My readers are really too sweet! Thanks for reading “The Slut Buck” AND for linking to my post!

          And then, you offered up a collection of short stories that A) I’m not familiar with and B) is from a German-speaking writer, which means I might be able to find it in the original German.

          26,283 NGEP to Seana to take the lead!

          Let us know if you have any updates to your page or new stories you’d like to share!

          Nathanael Green

          March 2, 2012 at 10:41 am

        • Not that I am trying desperately to hold on to the lead, but I was trying to think of some collections that have really stuck with me, and I realized that I haven’t mentioned William Saroyan’s short stories. I think his most famous collection is The Man on the Flying Trapeze, but New Directions did a few of them some years ago–Madness in the Family is also great.

          seana

          March 2, 2012 at 11:52 pm

        • But hold on to the lead you shall with an additional 10,000 NGEP!

          Have to admit that I’m not familiar with Saroyan, but now I’ll have search him out. Thanks for the additional recommendations!

          Nathanael Green

          March 4, 2012 at 9:13 am

    • He may be most famous for the play, The Time of Your Life. A lot of the stories have to do with his growing up withing the Armenian community in Fresno, California. It might not have seemed like such fruitful ground at the time, but he proved otherwise.

      seana

      March 4, 2012 at 5:01 pm

  3. Sort stories are weird.

    That said, Harrison Bergeron is the one that has stuck with me.

    Erica

    March 1, 2012 at 11:47 pm

    • Ooh, good call on the Vonnegut, Erica!

      I love Slaughterhouse 5 and pretty much everything good old Kurt’s ever done, but I sheepishly admit that I haven’t read many of his short stories. In fact, I think Harrison Bergeron is the only one I have.

      You’ve inspired me to track down a copy of Welcome to the Monkey House!

      For that, I you earn a respectable 20,374 NGEP this picture of a monkey that I think looks strikingly like Mr. Vonnegut:

      Monkey Vonnegut

      You’re in a close 3rd, keep the suggestions coming to earn more NGEP!

      Nathanael Green

      March 2, 2012 at 10:49 am

  4. Diana Gabaldon has a published and a forthcoming short story, as well as two novellas, in anthologies that are edited by George R.R. Martin. I have not read them, but her novels are good so I would expect nothing less from her shorter stuff. Plus, you heart GRRM. I saw you checking out Amazon for the release date of the Game of Thrones DVD.

    Jessica

    March 7, 2012 at 11:25 am

    • I do heart GRRM. It’s true. AND, the DVDs are out now!

      I could talk much more about Game of Thrones, but on to more important things: your NGEP score.

      I’m afraid that I can’t award you any NGEP for this recommendation. You see, I feel there was some inside information at play here that wouldn’t be fair to the other contestants.

      Though this IS a stellar recommendation (and you can see more about the collection here), and I can’t give you any points, I’d like to offer up this image as indication of how excited I am about everything you mentioned:

      Excited Nate

      Nathanael Green

      March 7, 2012 at 10:32 pm

  5. I’ll also offer up: “Agrippa (a book of the dead)” by William Gibson. Which is actually a long poem, but I read it my first year of college and I still think about it. It deals with the nature of memory. He worked with artist Dennis Ashbaugh and the story is meant to erase itself after it’s read (electronically) and the printed versions are done in such a way that the ink fades over time.

    Jessica

    March 7, 2012 at 11:31 am

    • Wow. Now THIS, I think I can give you points for. I’m saying 25,000 points. (It’d be more, but it’s not technically a short story.)

      How am I unfamiliar with Agrippa? After a quick read of the Wikipedia entry, I’m supremely intrigued!

      Interesting concept unifying form and content, and certainly something up my alley.

      I’d be interested to hear from anyone else who’s familiar with Agrippa–any thoughts?

      Nathanael Green

      March 7, 2012 at 10:39 pm

      • This sounds very interesting to me too. Points aside, this is the kind of reason to take part in this–to learn about something new!

        seana

        March 7, 2012 at 11:47 pm

  6. 紛れもなく、 チェーン ストラップ を
    シャネル レディース ハンドバッグ キンバリー ガーナーで実施です 区別 とすることができます 多くの場合 として着用
    最新 1 つのストラップ 二重のストラップ。着用時
    たびに 1 つのストラップ、シャネル
    財布およびハンドバッグ がハングする 直接 に、 下部 の 太もも
    骨と 製品、1970 年 雰囲気。キンバリー ガーナー
    選んだ を着用する 女性 シャネルのハンドバッグ ながら ストラップを 2 倍、 荷物 ハングアップする – 彼女の腰 に加え、、ドレッシーなを提供しています、モダンな外観。

    シャネル

    July 2, 2013 at 12:45 pm

  7. 全体に すべてエルメス 袋 に、 うち 再販 市場 です 偽造。以下のような 「ホットリスト」の 関数 に の 買物をするとき と 本物エルメス財布。


Leave a Reply

